Skip to main content

Danny Van Poppel 6th in Almeria

Danny Van Poppel 6th in Almeria

This Sunday was an ideal opportunity for the sprint train of Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux to put into practice the rehearsals that took place during pre-season. Indeed, the Clasica de Almeria (14/02 - 1.Pro) has often proven to be generous to the fast men over the years. Including to our own Danny Van Poppel, who took the start with great ambitions, following his second place in 2018 and his fourth place last year.

Despite four categorized climbs in the first part of the race, the peloton remained organized and allowed the breakaway to enjoy relative freedom, but eventually the pack got back together at around 40 kilometers to go. Unsurprisingly, nervousness took over, some riders found themselves on the floor and were out of contention for what was looking like yet another massive sprint finish. Pieter Vanspeybrouck made his return in the peloton after a crash. And unfortunately also Jonas Koch and Boy Van Poppel, a vital part of the sprint train, were involved in the damage. But Danny Van Poppel could still rely on Pieter Vanspeybroeck and Andrea Pasqualon to lead him out in the final kilometers. In the end, Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka) proved the fastest in Roquetas de Mar, and Danny Van Poppel, slightly shut in, grabbed a sixth place. 

Jean-Marc Rossignon (Sports Director):
"It was a very nervous day, because for many in the peloton it was their first race of the season. The guys very aware of that, but still we had three crashes and several punctures. First with Pieter in the early part, and towards the end when Boy touched the wheel of a rider in front of him and took Jonas down with him. With his train diminished, Danny somehow managed to get a top ten. I am absolutely convinced that with perseverance, the guys will pull it off. The train which we have been working on this winter is very strong on paper, that is why I am very positive for the upcoming races"

Clasica de Almeria:
1.Giacomo Nizzolo 4h18'44 "
2.Florian Sénéchal
3. Martin Laas 
6. Danny van Poppel

46.Andrea Pasqualon +0:11
89.Pieter Vanspeybrouck +0:58
98.Loïc Vliegen +1:36
104.Taco Van der Hoorn +2:01
142.Jonas Koch +14:31
143.Boy Van Poppel